A Few Less Than Wry Observations & Notes

Pablo Picasso’s ‘Le Reve’ (‘The Dream’) is a very nice picture that a rich guy poked a hole in by mistake.  He must have felt bad, eh?
 

People are so weird, Some of my favorite examples include saying udder when they mean utter as in “the milk was udder ecstasy, & I drank so much I thought my “blatter” (bladder) would pop.

 

I just replaced the batteries so now lets see if that fixes the problem with this computer keyboard.  Now I don’t know if it’s my sloppy typing or if it’s the crummy keyboard.  I fear that it’s the latter as I’ve made several typos in these 3 short lines.

 

I made a really nice dinner with a couple of chicken breasts we had left over from the stir fry I did Thursday night.  It was killer.  Cream sauce, broccoli onions & pasta with a nice bottle of Rodney Strong Chardonnay. 

 

Please Google Botero –

masterwork, a suite of 50 large oil paintings depicting the horrors perpetrated by Americans at Iraq’s infamous Abu Ghraib prison.


"I, like everyone else, was shocked by the barbarity, especially because the United States is supposed to be this model of compassion." The artist was so upset about what the US had done in Iraq that he set out to create a series of paintings that would forever etch the crime upon the collective consciousness of humanity. What Botero has achieved is nothing short of a contemporary equivalent to Pablo Picasso’s Guernica

 

 A Gadget Blog here – http://crave.cnet.com/

Updated: 6:10 p.m. PT Oct 17, 2006

NEW YORK – More than one in eight U.S. adults finds it hard to stay away from the Internet for several days at a time and about one in 11 tries to hide his or her online habit, according to a study released Tuesday.

 —

The face of the young American worker is changing, and it’s increasingly decorated with ink and metal. About half of people in their 20s have either a tattoo or a body piercing other than traditional earrings, according to a study published in June in the Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology

 

 

Took Dolly & went to Honey Baked Ham for lunch.  Used our coupon for 2 sandwiches & went next door to Moonstruck for coffee & ate at their outside tables.  It took 3 tries but the ham place finally got my order right.  But it was a really good lunch, quit peasant.  All in all Saturday was a pretty lazy day.

 —

Scott Adams, 49, creator of the comic strip Dilbert, appears to be a rare example of someone who has largely but not totally, recovered from Spasmodic Dysphonia, a mysterious disease in which parts of the brain controlling speech shut down or go haywire.So I Posted on Dilbert creator Scott Adams blog today upon learning about his recovery from mysterious disease http://dilbertblog.typepad.com/the_dilbert_blog/2006/10/good_news_day.html#comments –

         "I had laryngitis on my birthday a few years ago.  It was such an unpleasant experience.  My wife & I were in a very groovy very crowded bar & it was so very difficult to be witty, much less get my drink & happy hour treat ordered.  It cleared up a few days & 7 notepads later.  Don’t know if that was my happiest day but it was right up there.  I’m happy for your good fortune & pray that your recovery continues.  Love your work!"

 —

And in closing,

I had a bad day at work, seems like everything I touched was screwed up, broken or worn out.  I couldn’t get the internet to work right, the email was unreliable, erratic and the programs & the old computer kept locking up & crashing.  Whenever I tried to do anything I needed to fix a couple of other complicated problems first to get to work on the original problem.  Very frustrating especially when you add the time crunch to the equation. 

 But, sometimes it just goes that way…

This entry was posted in Blog World. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

