Bill Walsh – RIP

Yet another brush with another famous person –

 

I met this guy maybe 25 years ago at the 49rs training camp.  In fact I had lunch with him.  I don’t think he made a huge impression on me, but I was sure impressed with how much food the football players could put away.  Wow!  Bill Walsh didn’t seem like he was aloof or opinionated, just seemed like a regular guy that happened to be obsessed with football which is good since that was his job, eh?  I guess I still don’t care enough about sports to be very impressed but I recall a pleasant experience overall.

 

I was there along with my traitorous ex-business partner talking with Al Vermeil, Dick Vermeil’s brother who was the weight training coach there.  As I recall, Jim actually got to play tennis with him that afternoon.  That’s when I had my infamous short conversation with OJ Simpson when he growled at me to get out of his way in the parking lot.  In retrospect, I’m glad he didn’t stab me.

 

 

Former 49ers coach Bill Walsh dies    (7/30/07)

SAN FRANCISCOBill Walsh, the groundbreaking football coach who won three Super Bowls and perfected the ingenious schemes that became known as the West Coast offense during a Hall of Fame career with the San Francisco 49ers, has died. He was 75 …

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/20039776/

 

This entry was posted in News and politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

